HGUC GM Custom

DSCF2085

This build is unpainted and no seam line removal. All panel lines are done with Tamiya Panel Line Accent (you’ve gotta try this stuff!). Weathering are done with dry brushing and Gundam Real Touch Marker. The yellow “V” on the crotch is hand painted. The red vents on shoulders and chest are done in plastic, the rest is hand painted.

I admit that I am far from being an expert at all these “extra detailing” stuff, but I am quite happy with the result I got. Paint chipping doesn’t look too heavy and the stains turn out pretty nice!

I intentionally emphasize the weathering effect on GM’s right knee and right angle armor as this GM might have been kneeling at some point in the past.

Of course, being a grunt suit, I’m sure they do not get as much attention as Gundam type, therefore, being dirty and looking imperfect is to be expected.

DSCF2095

Despite being a grunt suit, Bandai gave quite a bit of attention into this kit. It comes with a set of expressive hands (manipulators) which is quite awesome! More HG kits should have that.

Most color separations great with some minor spots – totally expected from HG kits. Light blue armors can be a turn off for some people, but hey, you can always paint it over with your favorite. I was debating on giving it a dark blue at first, but this looks quite unique and I decided to keep it that way.

DSCF2098

It’s not often for me to build HG kits and I usually expect them to be somewhat bad…but I was wrong. HG kits, especially the more modern ones, are quite fun to build. Combine with their lower price point, I can feel more at ease practicing my techniques on.

One thing I especially LOVE about HG kits is that it is a pure joy to pose and take picture. Without many moving parts and loose pieces, I could throw any pose at it and not being frustrated at all.

DSCF2127

This was an another successful build for me. Better than that, it motivates me to buy more HG kits (is that a good or bad thing? lol) and practice more techniques.

Don’t let the simplicity and lag of details on HG kits turn you away from building them. They are great in their own way. There are a lot of opportunities for improving your skills and learn new stuffs.

Thanks for reading! The rest of the pictures are below.

Hey! I tried out this new format as suggested on Reddit. Let me know what you guys think!

This is not a review. It is only my thoughts and experiences that I want to share with you. You are absolutely entitled to your own opinion.

2 thoughts on “HGUC GM Custom

Leave a Reply

